Studies

Since its founding in 2007 the Methods Centre in the Department of Social Sciences (University of Bremen) has been involved in compulsory and elective compulsory courses in statistics and methods of empirical social research. The focus is on the basic training in statistics and methods of empirical social research, imparting of advanced knowledge and skills for the analysis of qualitative and quantitative social research data as well as »research-based learning«, which offers Bachelor students the opportunity to participate in joint teaching research projects.

In the bachelor's program the Methods Centre offers two compulsory modules for statistics and methods of empirical social research, »STM1« and »STM2«, for students of Geography, Political Science and Sociology. Currently records of the statistics lectures of these two modules can be viewed on ecourse.methodenzentrum-bremen.de.

In addition, the Methods Center contributes courses to the so-called »FEM« area of »Advanced Empirical Methods«, especially for the BA Sociology. We are focused especially on the imparting of practical research experience and extensive data analysis skills.

The Methods Centre also contributes to the Master of Sociology and Social Research by providing the Compulsory Course in "Quantitative Methods" and the "Social Integration and Methods Research" field of studies.

Studium

Seit seinem Gründungsjahr 2007 ist das Methodenzentrum am Fachbereich Sozialwissenschaften der Universität Bremen in der Pflicht- und Wahlpflichtlehre in Statistik und Methoden der empirischen Sozialforschung engagiert. Schwerpunkte liegen in der Grundlagenausbildung in Statistik und Methoden der empirischen Sozialforschung, in der Vermittlung weiterführender Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten für die Analyse qualitativer und quantitativer Sozialforschungsdaten sowie in einem Angebot zu »forschendem Lernen«, das Bachelor-Studierenden schon früh die Gelegenheit zur Mitwirkung an gemeinsamen Lehrforschungsprojekten vermittelt.

Im Bachelor bietet das Methodenzentrum für Studierende der Geografie, Politikwissenschaft und Soziologie die beiden Pflichtmodule für Statistik und Methoden empirischer Sozialforschung, »STM1« und »STM2«, an. Es sind zurzeit insbesondere Aufzeichnungen der Statistikvorlesungen dieser beiden Module, die wir Ihnen hier auf www.methodenzentrum-bremen.de zur Verfügung stellen können.

Darüber hinaus steuert das Methodenzentrum – speziell für den BA Soziologie – Lehrveranstaltungen zum sogenannten »FEM«-Pflichtbereich für »Fortgeschrittene empirische Methoden« bei. Unsere fachlichen Schwerpunkte liegen hier in der Vermittlung von praktischen Forschungserfahrungen und weitreichenden Datenanalysekompetenzen.

Auch zum Master Soziologie und Sozialforschung leistet das Methodenzentrum seinen Beitrag, und zwar über den Pflichtkurs in »Quantitative Methoden« und den Schwerpunktbereich »Soziale Integration und Methodenforschung«.